A Post Because I Can – SteamOS Sucess!

Just an update, I successfully installed SteamOS under the following test rig:

  • Dell Optiplex GX745
  • Non-UEFI generic Intel motherboard
  • Velociraptor Hard Drive
  • AMD HD 5450 Low Profile Graphics Card
  • HDMI/DVI Out
  • 4 GB DDR2 PC26400
Miss me!?!? The Steam EULA agreement is hidden for many when starting SteamOS for the first time after the post_install.sh script is run.

Miss me!?!? The Steam EULA agreement is hidden for many when starting SteamOS for the first time after the post_install.sh script is run.

It was a bit tricky, as after I installed the AMD beta drivers over top of the existing fglrx proprietary drivers, I still had a black screen.  The trick was to hit <TAB> + <SPACE> + <ENTER> to accept the hidden SteamOS EULA on the screen.  For some reason it was not rendering through default output.  After this the SteamOS update kicked off, installed, and I was away!

-mikeyd

About professorkaos64

www.libregeek.org

Posted on 20131219, in Games, Games for Linux, How-To and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. had this issue for the past 3 hours, thank you!!!

    • professorkaos64

      No problem. I was extremely happy I figured it out on a hunch. Many many people were all over message boards trying to change video drivers, modes, this and that. I though well, let me see, I know there is a EULA, and I saw it flash at one point on another test system when I was messign with it. So the age ol, TAB+SPACE to select, then I hit enter, wham bam thank you mam. Glad I could help out. Happy gaming!!!

  1. Pingback: How To – Workarounds for SteamOS beta System Requirements | The Linux Cauldron

Leave a Reply

