FreeBSD Challenge: Day 08 of 30

vbox1

Smokey the bear always warned me about forest fires, he never said anything about kernel panics and root mount failures.

The morning rapport

Today I wanted to focus on getting a few things done for future test purposes.  If you are using a Virtual Machine hypervisor, it is paramount to take snapshots if you wish to revert backwards for any issues.  Me, like a great scholar again, did not take a snapshot and had a few issues that I really wished I had avoided.  So, in order to do this, I removed my existing Installation of FreeBSD x64, and reinstalled, aiming to capture a “base install” which is always a great idea for a starting snapshot of course.

Problem was, for me, a few things were not working quite right, even having followed the Wiki for VirtualBox.  When installing things, it is not always apparent what is going on until you read things again and try different scenarios.  In my previous installation a default ‘Xorg -confugre’, vesa video drivers, Xorg, and gnome2 worked fantastically.  This time around however, it did not work so well.  I did try my hand at installing xfce4, but I had a few issues with compiling the port, and even using the “xfce” pkgng package.  Later today I am going to give that a shot again.

A solid guide to a FreeBSD Guest VirtualBox

I wanted to detail what went well for me in getting FreeBSD x64 fully working under VirtualBox, so it can hopefully help a few other folks out.  I will give a few screens to illustrate the settings, and then go on to detail what I had to change in FreeBSD x64 itself.

First, you will want to head into your virtual machines settings > General.  Ensure you are using the “FreeBSD (64bit)” version if applicable, not the “FreeBSD” version, as suggested if you accepted the default version when setting up your VM the first time.

vbox2Next, into Settings > System.  Here we will want to modify the Chipset to match “PIIX3” with our pointing device as “PS/2 Mouse.”  In the Processor tab, increasing the CPU beyond 1 will help you if you plan on doing a lot of ports compiling rather than binary pacakges.  On the acceleration tab, Ensure Enabled VT-x/AMD-V, and Nested Paging is on.

vbox3

Settings > Display > No need to change

Settings > Storage.  Be sure to change you IDE controller type to “PIIX4”, and ensure “Use Host I/O Cache” is turned on as such:

vbox4

Settings > Audio > nothing here of note

Settings > Network > nothing necessary to change.  Should be defaulted to NAT

Settings > Serial Ports > nothing of note here

Settings > USB > nothing necessary to change unless needed.

Settings > Shared Folders > nothing necessary to change unless needed.

Setting up FreeBSD x64 for VirtualBox guest usage

Now, to setup FreeBSD x64 as a guest virtual machine on your system.  There are a few key areas I had to configure.   Install the needed package with the following command below.   You don not need the entire virtualbox-ose package, just the virtualbox-ose-additions for this portion.

Using the ports system

# cd /usr/ports/emulators/virtualbox-ose-additions && make install clean

Or, using the binary package:

pkg install virtualbox-ose-additions

Either should work fine, and I tested on both.  Next, you will want to ensure /etc/rc.conf contains the following:

vboxguest_enable="YES"
vboxservice_enable="YES"

In my particular case, I had trouble getting the video resolution fully scalable with a default ‘Xorg -configure’ command.  If, in your case, this does not work, make sure to add/alter your /etc/X11/xorg.conf file to contain the following:


Section "Device"
### Available Driver options are:-
### Values: <i>: integer, <f>: float, <bool>: "True"/"False",
### <string>: "String", <freq>: "<f> Hz/kHz/MHz"
### [arg]: arg optional
Identifier "Card0"
Driver "vboxvideo"
VendorName "InnoTek Systemberatung GmbH"
BoardName "VirtualBox Graphics Adapter"
BusID "PCI:0:2:0"
EndSection

And add the following line to the same file above, if you wish to have virtualbox control the mouse driver as well.  For me, I had no isssue with this:


Section "InputDevice"
Identifier "Mouse0"
Driver "vboxmouse"
EndSection

My goal today was to get a stable snapshot of the base system, and then with a full set of programs on it, which was very successful today, given the snow storm today.  With other things to attend to tonight, you know…things responsible “adults” do, that will be all for today.  I will edit this post if I did in fact miss anything.

Up for tomorrow?  I want to focus on drilling down the handbook and choosing a few more topics over the next few days, any pitfalls, highlights, and whatever else I can find before doing anything too complicated here.

Than you for reading,

-mikeyd

freebsd

[ Back To Index ]

About professorkaos64

www.libregeek.org

Posted on 20131214, in Distro Test Drive, Distros and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Your index page has a broken link making this page harder to find. In the link you have 2013/12/13, where it should be 2013/12/14, the rest is fine. Although I do get re-written to have 08-of-30″-2″, where does this -2 come from?

    • professorkaos64

      I am not sure where that comes from, I will re check the hyper link for this day , 08, and I very* much appreciate the heads up (thank you wordpress…). I is possiblye is is because I renamed it once and that was appended? I’ve been really busy with the holidays, work, and tackling SteamOS issues, but I will be conintuing testing out FreeBSD very soon, maybe even today if I get my HTPC fully well. Another HTPC article on extending xbmc is probably going to be done today. Being a lone ranger on a site is tough ha. Hope you have a great holiday.

  1. Pingback: FreeBSD Challenge | The Linux Cauldron

Leave a Reply

