FreeBSD Challenge: Day 07 of 30

Tonight will be a fairly short update due to a lot of work I was doing unlocking, rooting, and getting the latest nightly of the new cm10/hammerhead image on my Nexus 5.  Hope all goes well!  Normally I stick to AOKP, or Liquid Smooth, but I am getting tired of not having my customizations.  Tonight I did a little work on getting Steam up and running.  I found two methods that potentially could work, but as you’ll find out, I hit a few issues.

Method 1: Steam via games/linux-steam ports package

steam1

Updating the HLDS Steam server

This method wasn’t all that hard, thanks to the awesome folks at freshports.  To get the install going, make sure you have the following prerequisites installed, all of which can be found in your ports tree:

Components required for building the port:


# cd /usr/ports/emulators/linux_base-f10 && make install clean

Required To Run:


# cd /usr/ports/textproc/linux-f10-expat && make install clean
# cd /usr/ports/x11-fonts/linux-f10-fontconfig && make install clean
# cd /usr/ports/x11/linux-f10-xorg-libs && make install clean

Loading the necessary modules for now and for startup:


# kldload linux
# echo 'linux_load="YES"' >> /boot/loader.conf

Once installed, your binary file lives under ‘/usr/local/bin/steam’.  You can execute the bare file with ‘./steam’.  In order to install, say the game “Killing Floor,” you would do the following:


# ./steam -command update -game killingfloor -dir killingfloor
# cd killingfloor/system
# ./ucc-bin server KF-BioticsLab?VACSecured=true?MaxPlayers=6?AdminName=admin?AdminPassword=admin

steam2

Argh!!! Why you no work!?

With any luck, the server should connect and get going.  In my case, I continued to receive the dreading server error above.  I wasn’t quite sure if it was a network port issue with Virtual Box, a network card setup issue, firewall issue, or other things involved.  For now I will have to shelve steam until I receive my new ZaReason laptop.  I am hopeful this method will work well, as it seems others have been able to run a similar setup.

Method 2: Steam via Crossover’s “cxgames”

Crossover running on Arch Linux

Crossover running on Arch Linux

A tried and true software I dearly love, is the great software Crossover.  On the Linux side, Crossover has rolled into one complete installer binary installation.  With the FreeBSD unsupported install, it was back to the “old” split of separate binary installers.  No matter I thought!  Download and kicking off the binary installer was quite easy.  It was when I went to complete the install I ran into issues.

If  you want to see the entire thread, my CodeWeavers forum post can be located here.   In a nutshell, I was getting this specific set of errors/warnings:


** (process:1941): WARNING **: Trying to register gtype 'GSocketMsgFlags' as enum when in fact it is of type 'GFlags'
GLib (gthread-posix.c): Unexpected error from C library during 'pthread_mutex_unlock': Operation not permitted. Aborting.
Use of "goto" to jump into a construct is deprecated at /opt/cxgames/lib/perl/XML/SAX/PurePerl/Reader/Stream.pm line 56.

The buck stopped here folks.  Hit a brick wall.  Like Method 1, I want to wait until I get my laptop up and running from ZaReason to get Steam going anyway.  For now, this particular application tinkering is on hold.  Still have some Cyanogen Mod work left to do anyway.

Good night,

-mikeyd

freebsd

[ Back To Index ]

About professorkaos64

www.libregeek.org

Posted on 20131213, in Distro Test Drive, Distros and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

