Android Corner – OSMand for Android, A GPS Contender

OSMand has that chance to be an alternative app to Google’s Maps application. Maybe it will be your replacement.

What a silly acronym…  Ok, OSMand (Open Street Map and Navigational Directions) is a hot new maps app that bases its whole well being on the Open Street Maps project.  So, if you are total Open Source dork, this is a great app for you. The app has received very positive reviews, with its minor quirks, of course.

What makes it exception is its offline maps mode, which far out guns the meager offline map mode of Google Maps, enabling you to download areas much larger and multiple countries too.  Don’t get me wrong, I love Google Maps, but only letting me selecting a small square area is beyond aggravating  especially when I have* the space.

OSMand features quick vector rendering, and snappy response time.  I did experience a rerouting issue every once in a while, but it was very minor, and not a huge issue for me.  Reports all over the web are positive in OSMand’s ability to handle streets in multiple corners of the world.  I am still testing this app, but I have to say I am very impressed so far.

-Professor

About professorkaos64

www.libregeek.org

Posted on 20130626, in Android, Software and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

