30 Days of GNU/Linux: Day 2

Things on the desktop with Linux Mint have been PERFECT.  However, to address my more technical thirst, I will most likely end up with Arch Linux on the desktop.  The Macbook Pro, hasn’t fared so well.  I ended up dual booting Mac OS X with Linux Mint (Mint has the updated Grub2, Fedora 18 did not).  I really* wanted to have Fedora on at least the laptop to reacquaint myself with a bit of the enterprise side.

Turns out Fedora 18 is a NIGHTMARE with UEFI systems, especially the Macbook, defaulting after live DVD load to Fedora’s CLI Dracut system.  I tried and tried and tried many things in Dracut to get the Fedora Grub chainloader to find the .is file, to no avail.  After working on that for a long while, I decided to give Fedora 19 Beta a good, which worked out well.  I was finally able to boot into at least the installer, which is now loading the OS.  Fingers crossed!

Till tomorrow!

About professorkaos64

www.libregeek.org

Posted on 20130612, in 30 Days of Linux, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. anthonyvenable110

    Reblogged this on anthonyvenable110.

Leave a Reply

